Best of 2018-19: Students, groups earn Wood, leadership, co-op awards

More than 100 recognized during year-end program
May 9, 2019

More than 100 students and student groups were recognized recently at University of Wisconsin-Stout’s annual Leadership Awards program.

Winners were announced for the Samuel E. Wood Medallion and campus Leadership Awards for the 2018-19 academic year. Also, the Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award winners were named for the 2018 calendar year. Those nominated for awards were also recognized.

The event was sponsored by the Involvement Center, Stout Student Association and Career Services and was held in the Great Hall of the Memorial Student Center.

Wood Medallion winners

Wood Medallion

A total of 22 students received the Wood Medallion, given annually to seniors who have been active in student activities and exhibited an outstanding degree of leadership while at UW-Stout. Winners are chosen by a committee representing students, faculty and staff.

The medallion is the highest nonacademic award for students.

Samuel E. Wood was a longtime assistant chancellor for Students Services/Dean of Students. He retired in 1991 and died in February 2013.

The Wood award recipients, their hometowns and majors are:

Leadership Awards

Deon CanonWinners of the annual Leadership Awards are chosen by a committee made up of students and staff. The winners are:

  • Outstanding Student Leader of the Year, Deon Canon, Milwaukee, Stout Student Association president for 2019-20
  • Student Employee of the Year, Jasmine Baker, Matteson, Ill., University Communications, and Kaitlynn Lee, Instructional Resources Service
  • Student Org of the Year, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
  • Student Staff Team of the Year, Math Teaching and Learning Center teaching assistants
  • Adviser of the Year, Philip McGuirk, Club Managers Association of AmericaPhil McGuirk
  • Student Org Event of the Year, educational/professional development, Chicago trip, Stout Retail Association
  • Student Org Event of the Year, cultural social/justice, Peace March, Black Student Union and Latinos Unidos
  • Student Org Event of the year, service/civic engagement, sweater mittens for Foster Closet, Phi Upsilon Omicron

Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award

The Outstanding Co-op Student of the Year Award was given to 18 students in the university’s Cooperative Education Program.

More than 1,000 students participated in co-ops in the past year. Through Career Services, students work in a paid position in their fields of study and receive academic credit.

The award winners are selected by the program’s Advisory Committee for excellence and achievements in their cooperative positions, for contributions to their employers and for academic achievement.

Co-op winners

This year’s winners, their majors and employers are:

  • Alexandra Bauer, St. Paul, Minn., mechanical engineering, nVent
  • Katelynn Chamberlin, Somerset, conservation biology, Minneapolis Parks and Recreation
  • Jessica DuVal, Logan, Iowa, applied science, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Abigail Fawcett, Eau Claire, digital marketing technology, Great River Energy
  • Jordyn Fitzgerald, Marshfield, golf enterprise management and real estate property management, Wild Ridge Golf Course
  • Olivia Flicker, Stillwater, Minn., interior design, Beth Whitlinger Interior Design
  • Maizee Freeman, Walker, Minn., hotel, restaurant and tourism management, Erin Hills
  • Drake Gadbois, Lindstrom, Minn., packaging, Jack Links
  • Christopher George, Clintonville, engineering technology, Kohler
  • Cole Gonyea, Eau Claire, digital marketing technology, Noah’s Ark Waterpark
  • Hannah Gostonczik, Spooner, golf enterprise management and hotel, restaurant and tourism management, Anchorage Golf Course
  • Joseph Kannel, Ellsworth, mechanical engineering, Phillips Medisize
  • Annalise Mark, Vadnais Heights, Minn., business administration, Hormel Foods
  • Rana Pluemer, Platteville, golf enterprise management and hotel, restaurant and tourism management, Grand Geneva Resort and Spa
  • Taylor Thomas, Forest Lake, Minn., applied mathematics and computer science, NASA
  • Austin Wheaton, Sturgeon Bay, engineering technology, Therma-Tron-X Inc.
  • Abbigail Winski, Milwaukee, real estate property management and hotel, restaurant and tourism management, Landmark Resort
  • Kyle Zeilinger, Janesville, manufacturing engineering, Prent

UW-Stout is Wisconsin’s Polytechnic University, with a focus on applied learning, collaboration with business and industry, and career outcomes.



Wood Medallion winners: Front row, left to right, Andrea Bertram, Aarica Humke, PaChee Yang, Rebecca Silberfarb, Jordyn Krahn, Hailey Hansen and Kyla Bergstrom. Second row, left to right, Lucas Morgan, McKayla Pederson, Emily Wettergren, Emilie Horvath, McKenzie Librande, Kayla Boyd, Kalley Bergstrom. Third row, left to right, Talen Londre, Kylie Anderson, Ashley Brisbin, Jessi Weber, Emily Doroff, Hannah Bragelman, Brianna Buhl.

Canon Deon won the Outstanding Student Leader of the Year Award.

Named Adviser of the Year was Philip McGuirk.

Co-op winners: First row, left to right, Rana Pluemer, Maizee Freeman. Olivia Flicker, Annalise Mark, Chancellor Bob Meyer, Hannah Gostonczik, Abigail Fawcett. Second row, left to right, Jordynn Fitzgerald, Drake Gadbois, Katelynn Chamberlin, Alexandra Bauer, Abbigail Winski, Jessica DuVal, Austin Wheaton, Kyle Zeilinger. Third row, left to right, Joseph Kannel, Christopher George, Taylor Thomas, Cole Gonyea.

Fostering Success program receives $70,000 in state funding

A groundbreaking program at UW-Stout that helps former foster care youth has been awarded state funding.

Graduate student Prokosch supporting children, futures at Boys & Girls Club

When she graduates in spring 2023 with a master’s in school counseling, Tana Prokosch already will have multiple professional experiences.

University’s business, industry connections highlighted during visit from System President Rothman

With low unemployment and an ongoing shortage of qualified workers, business and industry need a stronger talent pipeline to keep Wisconsin's economic strong.